WWW Wednesday: 16th December 2015

It’s WWW Wednesday time.

The WWW Wednesdays meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words and is a great way to do a weekly update on what you’ve been reading and what you have planned.

WWW Wednesday

To take part all you have to do is answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my W’s for the week.


Currently Reading

The Invisible Library (The Invisible Library #1)I completely abandoned my planned reading list from last week and am currently reading The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman. It’s a mixture of steampunk, fantasy, science fiction and a detective story. Reminds me a little bit of Jasper Fforde’s Thursday Next series. Slightly undecided about whether I’m enjoying it or not. I like the writing but it is a little bit slow and the narrator seems kind of detached from events.

I’m also still reading My True Love Gave to Me, a collection of holiday related short stories. I have to admit I haven’t managed to get very far with it so can’t comment on how good or bad.


Recently Finished

Dead RingersIt’s been another slow week for reading unfortunately but I did manage to finish Dead Ringers by Christopher Golden. I found this book hard work and ended up having to make a concerted effort to just finish it.

Haven’t had a chance to post a full review but I’m probably not going to be giving it a good rating. I didn’t particularly like any of the characters and wasn’t too keen on the writing. I do seem to be in the minority on this so maybe I was just in the wrong frame of mind when I read it.


Reading NextThe Masked City (The Invisible Library, #2)

I only have 3 days of work left so think I’ll be embarking on a reading binge from Saturday. As I’m almost finished the Invisible Library I think I may just carry on and read the next in the series The Masked City which I received as an ARC from NetGalley.

I also have a big pile of library books which I’d like to make a start on including Dangerous Lies, The Marble Collector and The Knife of Never Letting Go. I do have a few other books I’ve been saving but I think I’ll hang on to them as a Christmas treat to myself.

The Marble CollectorDangerous LiesThe Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking, #1)

If you have any other suggestions or if you’ve read any of these leave a comment below.

Happy Wednesday all.

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: 16th December 2015

  1. I’d say to stick with The Invisible Library. I thought it got better as it went along. And, although it isn’t perfect, I thought the sequel will probably be better now the author has got a lot of the world-building stuff out of the way. Very jealous you’ll get to read it ahead of time!
    I’d recommend The Knife of Never Letter Go very highly.
    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2015/12/16/www-wednesday-16th-december-2015/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Knife Of Never Letting Go is such a great read; definitely recommendable! I’m going to try and read My True Love Gave To Me before Christmas, although I’m not sure if I will actually have enough time. 😉

    Happy Wednesday! Here’s my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I found the Invisible Library fairly easy reading but not wholly engaging at the same time. I might revisit it at some point, but I’ve put it aside for now.

    I’ll also put my vote in for The Knife of Never Letting Go.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

