Book Review: My Kind of Wonderful by Jill Shalvis

My Kind of Wonderful (Cedar Ridge, #2)My Kind of Wonderful by Jill Shalvis

My rating: 4 of 5 Stars

The perfect read to chase away the winter blues.

I’m not a fan of January. It’s cold, miserable, dark from around 4pm and I always end up working completely ridiculous hours to meet unachievable deadlines. Safe to say I’m not a happy bunny.

While this book didn’t really solve anything as far as work or weather it did make me feel a bit better about it and it most definitely put a smile on my face.

My Kind of Wonderful is the second in the cedar ridge series and my first book by Jill Shalvis. I didn’t realise it was the second in a series but to be honest it didn’t matter as it works as a standalone.

Synopsis

The story follows Bailey Moore, a women determined to make the most of her second chance at life by living it to the full. She has a list of things she wants to do and top of that list is to paint a mural. When she’s hired to paint a mural at cedar ridge ski resort in the Rockies she’s determined to do it. What she doesn’t count on though is Hudson Kincaid.

Hudson’s part of the family who own the resort and between working all hours at the resort to keep it afloat, taking shifts at the local police station, looking after his mentally ill mum and trying to track down his missing brother he has a lot on his plate. He’s not looking for any more complications in his life and he’s certainly not looking for a relationship.

They are exactly what the other doesn’t need in their life right now but from their very first encounter there’s an attraction that neither can ignore. A serious relationship is not what either want but once the mural’s finished can they really end it?

My thoughts

It’s a very sweet and romantic read and absolutely perfect for the cold dark winter months. There is the occasional sad moment but most of the time it had me laughing and smiling (unfortunately sometimes when I was on the train which is a bit embarrassing).

The main characters are very likeable. Bailey is so optimistic and determined to live life to the max on her own basis that you can’t help but love her. Hudson is dark and brooding but cares for his family so patiently and lovingly that you really feel for him. There is a lot of chemistry between Bailey and Hudson and the attraction and spark is there from the very beginning making it a very believable relationship.

For me though, one of the highlights of the story was the Kincaid family. I loved the dynamic between the siblings and their partners. Almost every scene made me laugh and smile. There were a lot of pranks and the teasing but you get the feeling that they’re always there for each other no matter what. I come from a small family so I have to admit to being a little bit jealous.

I have to admit to also having a bit of a soft spot for any story set in the snow at winter. They are always so cozy and romantic with rustic lodges and log fires. The author gives a great sense of place in this story and the mountains and resort are almost characters in their own right. From the very first chapter when Hudson is “rescuing” Bailey from a dangerous ski run I fell a little bit in love with the setting. I just want to jump on a plane and head off now.

The story is fairly predictable but that’s kind of what you expect from this type of story. You pretty much know how it will end from the first few pages but it’s nice to join the characters on their journey and the writing is good enough that it’s an engaging and funny read.

I’d definitely recommend it to chase away the January blues.

Many thanks to the publishers and NetGalley for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: My Kind of Wonderful by Jill Shalvis

Leave a Reply

