Book Review: The Ex Factor by Eva Woods

The Ex  FactorThe Ex Factor by Eva Woods

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

A fun and light hearted read about four friends who decide to date each other’s exes. I’m a big fan of this type of book and loved that the author managed to find a unique idea.

It’s not perfect but it’s an enjoyable read, with likeable characters and a few surprises to keep it interesting.


Synopsis

Is it possible to freecycle love?

Modern dating is hard, especially when all you meet are liars, oddballs, men who wear Superman pants and men who live with their mums.

So why not date someone who already comes pre-approved? Just because your friend’s ex wasn’t right for her doesn’t mean that he won’t be right for you. That’s Marnie’s new plan for herself and her three best friends, perennially single Helen, recently divorced Rosa and cynical lawyer Ani.

Through bad dates and good, the four friends begin to realise that there are advantages to dating pre-screened men…but there can be some serious pitfalls to falling for your friend’s ex.


My Thoughts

I have to admit to being a bit of a sucker when it comes to books about dating. I’m obviously a romantic at heart as I love stories about internet dating, blind dates and other weird and wacky schemes to find your perfect match. It’s safe to say I’ve read a lot of them but this one was definitely something a bit unique as rather than the usual ways to meet someone a group of four friends agree to date each other’s exes. This makes for a fun and lighthearted read as the experiment has somewhat mixed results.

What I liked about this book was that it did have that something a little bit different and unlike most chick lit it was difficult to predict where it was going to go. I did call a couple of the endings but the others I was completely off track and very pleasantly surprised.

The story is told in alternating chapters from the pov of each of the four main characters, Marnie, Helen, Ani and Rosa and I have to admit I found some characters more interesting and likeable than others.

Marnie is a bit of a mystery and is the one that comes up with the idea. She comes across as a free spirit and a rebel who travels the world and wants to experience everything but all is not as it seems.

Helen is her best friend but is the exact opposite. She’s terminally single and would rather stay home with her cat and watch boxsets than venture out. She lives her life to a timetable and even works at home as she tries to get over something that happened in her past while keeping it a secret from her friends.

Ani is the career focused divorce lawyer who has multiple dates a week and is despairing of ever meeting someone who meets her standard and Rosa is a features writer who’s just been dumped by her husband (who she works with) for a younger model.

My favourite character by far was Rosa. I felt so sorry for her as she spends most of her time at work hiding under her desk crying but she definitely gets some of the funniest scenes and it was her chapters I looked forward to reading the most. Helen was also likeable but somewhat frustrating. Ani and Marnie were probably a little less exciting to read but still interesting.

It does lend itself to comparisons to Sex in the City, albeit a very British and less x rated version, mostly due to it being about a group of four best friends adventures in dating but the author has made it very much her own. The pacing is probably a little bit on the slow side and personally I would have liked a little more humour and a lot more romance but I loved it for it’s uniqueness.

Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Book Review: The Ex Factor by Eva Woods

  1. I like the idea behind the book! Not that I would consider doing that in real life, haha! But it makes sense and I’m sure it makes for a fun chick lit. I’ll remember it when I need a lighter read!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

