WWW Wednesday: 21st September 2016

The WWW Wednesdays meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words and is a great way to do a weekly update on what you’ve been reading and what you have planned.

WWW Wednesday

To take part all you have to do is answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

Here’s this weeks WWW.


Currently Reading

I still seem to be going through a little bit of an odd reading phase at the moment, with my choices being somewhat random rather than the books I have lined up on my list.

Feminist Fight Club: An Office Survival Manual for a Sexist WorkplaceWhat’s especially unusual this week is that I’m currently reading a non fiction book. I think non fiction typically reminds me too much of all those text books I was forced to read at school and University but when I spotted Feminist Fight Club by Jessica Bennett on NetGalley I couldn’t resist.

I am kind of fascinated by feminist issues and this offers advice on identifying and fighting sexism in the modern day office environment. It’s a little bit American at times but is pretty funny with some advice that I think will come in handy.


Recently FinishedDouble Black (Stark Springs Academy #2)

Last week I was midway through Double Black by Ali Dean, the second book in the Stark Springs Academy series about an elite winter sports school. I’d become slightly addicted to this series so I wasn’t long in finishing both this and the final book in the trilogy Black Ice. It had quite a good mix of competitive sports and high school drama so was the light read that I was just in the right mood for. I’m not sure books two and three were as good as the first one but still enjoyed them.

I then went off in a slightly different reading direction with Elizabeth Darcy of Pemberley by Maggi J Coxon. As you can probably guess by the title it’s a sequel to Pride and Prejudice but what made it a little bit different is that it’s in the form of letters between all of the main characters. I did enjoy it but the letter formMiracle On 5th Avenue (From Manhattan with Love, Book 3)at does create a little bit of emotional distance from the hatches, matches and dispatches.

The fourth book finished this week was Miracle on 5th Avenue by Sarah Morgan which I requested and received from NetGalley. Yep, I’ve started my Christmas reading early this year. I do love a good Christmas book and I love Sarah Morgan and this is definitely one of her best. It’s sweet, funny and romantic. It’s a little early for a review but expect one soon.

The final book of the week, Love to Hate You by Anna Premoli, was a bit of a random choice from Amazon. Love to Hate You: A fun, feisty romanceAs you can possibly guess from the title and cover it’s chick lit. It’s set in the tax consultancy department of a bank (I didn’t know they had them) and is about two co workers who absolutely hate each other but are forced to work together on a project. There is however a fine line between love and hate.

At the start of this book I have to admit I hated it to the extent I was already planning my big ranty review once I’d finished but bizarrely around the halfway point I got a little bit addicted and couldn’t stop reading. In general I would say I enjoyed the non office based bits.


Reading NextEmpire of Storms (Throne of Glass, #5)

Needless to say Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas is still on my reading next list. It will happen soon as it’s driving me nuts steering clear of social media to avoid spoilers.

The one thing that may stop me is that I went on a bit of a book buying spree over the weekend and also requested a few more books from NetGalley. There are too many books to list them all (I have no shelf control) but the ones I can’t wait to read are The Ice Lands by Steinar Bragi (I’m snow and ice obsessed at the moment), Unwind by Neal Shusterman, The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss and the Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch.

The Ice LandsUnwind (Unwind, #1)The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard, #1)The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #1)

In other exciting news this week I also managed to get tickets to go see Leigh Bardugo and Rainbow Rowell when they tour the UK together at the end of October. Can’t wait. If anyone is interested in attending any of the events in London, Dublin, Manchester or Edinburgh you can find details on the Worlds Collide Tour webpage here

Have you read any of the books above or have any other book you’d recommend? Leave comments and links below.

Happy Wednesday everyone.

23 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: 21st September 2016

  1. Congratulations on the tickets. I hope that you will enjoy the event.I really like the cover and the sound of Miracle on 5th Avenue. I haven’t yet started my holiday reading though I have been eyeing this section on NetGalley. I hope to find something good. Interesting how your perspective on Love to Hate changed mid-book.Glad it worked out in the end though.

    Here’s my WWW:https://ahavenforbooklovers.wordpress.com/2016/09/21/www-wednesday-september-21st/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Love to Hate ended up being one of those books where I hated the work based bits but loved the outwith the office sections. I quite often get annoyed about workplace type stories as I don’t like how professional women are portrayed. Didn’t help that this one was kind of finance based as that’s the area I work in.

      Like

  2. Oh man– I’m so jealous that you’ll be able to see Rowell and Bardugo! That sounds great! And thanks for the tip about Feminist Fight Club– I’ll definitely check that book out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My only slight quibble around Feminist Fight Club is that it seems to suggest that if you can you should seek to promote women above men. So if you’re recruiting you should actively try to seek a woman for the post rather than the man. My view has always been best person for the job regardless of sex, race, orientation or any other factor.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes– I understand where you are coming from. But this could be similar to the idea of “Amplification”, where women reinforce other women in office meetings to prevent man-terruption?
        In the world of recruiting, I think it’s easy for unconscious bias to come to play when you know those key points of diversity. I fully support the idea of removing names/gender/other diversity indicators from resumes and job applications when making a decision on who to interview in person. I think that makes it easier to select the best person for the job.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That seems to be the idea. If you can reach proportionate representation then women will feel more comfortable and able to speak up. I’m all for supporting a coworker who’s having trouble being heard or having a hard time. I just don’t like the idea of it as a hiring policy. Maybe I’m just lucky at the moment that the organisation I work for probably has equal if not more women than men.

        According to my male coworker apparently I’m a womanterrupter. Oops

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s great! Equality is far off in my office, but I work in Finance. There is definitely a Good Ol’ Boys club going on in the Exec world. I hope we can get towards equality in the workplace everywhere eventually, for sure.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh! Unwind is really good! I read it earlier this year. It does require some willing suspension of disbelief but it’s written well enough that you can do that pretty easily. I’m also picking up Name of the Wind soon. Hope you enjoy it!

    My WWW post.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

