WWW Wednesday : 4th November 2015

It’s WWW Wednesday time.

The WWW Wednesdays meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words and is a great way to do a weekly update on what you’ve been reading and what you have planned.

WWW WednesdayThe three W’s are:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my W’s for the week.


Currently Reading

The Beast of BarcroftI’m still working my way through The Beast of Barcroft by Bill Schweigart as part of my Halloween themed reads. I’ve just passed the halfway point and am really enjoying it so far. There’s a large cat (or possibly something else) lurking in the woods and picking off pets in the neighbourhood. Actually finding it a little bit creepy. Reminds me a bit of some of James Herbert’s older stories such as the Rats. Review should be coming soon.

I’ve also started an audio book which is a rare occurrence for me. The only other audio book I’ve listened to was The Girl on the Train which I wasn’t too keen on. This time I’m listening to What Might Have Been by Matt Dunn. It’s a boy meets girl, boy leaves girl and then changes his mind and decides he wants her back type story. There isn’t a huge amount happening and it’s a bit frustrating but I’m still loving it. It makes a pleasant change to find a relationship book written by a man and I think the audio is improving it. I was sitting giggling in a traffic jam yesterday.


Recently Finished

Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper #1)Only managed to finish one book so far this week and that was Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper by J.L. Bryan.  This was another of my Halloween themed reads and I was hoping for a creepy ghost story. Unfortunately that isn’t really what I got as it turned into more of a science manual for ghost catching. It’s well written and has some great characters but just not what I was looking for. You can read my full review here


Reading Next

I’m not so patiently waiting on Winter the next in the Lunar Chronicles to be released so I’m struggling to know what to read next. I think I will try to work my way through some of the ARCs I have received from NetGalley.  I just received The Masked City by Genevieve Coleman and have realised it’s the follow up to The Invisible Library which has been on my TBR (and kindle) for a while now. I think it’s probably time I read it. It says it’s for fans of The Eyre Affair so should be a good choice for me as that was one of my favourite series.

I also hope to make a start on Meet Me in Manhattan by Claudia Carroll (one of my favourite authors) but I probably need to finish What Might Have Been first as I don’t think I can read more than one romance at a time.

214166902576108625219912

There is a strong possibility that I will wander off and read something else so if you have any suggestions or recommendations let me know.

Happy Wednesday all.

14 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday : 4th November 2015

  1. I enjoyed The Invisible Library. It’s a little confusing in places, but overall it’s enjoyable and it features books! I’m looking forward to the sequel and hoping that the author has ironed out some of the kinks in the first book. I hope you enjoy both books. Looking forward to hearing what you make of The Masked City in particular (it’s on my TBR).
    I can’t wait for Winter either – less than a week to go!!
    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2015/11/04/www-wednesday-4th-november-2015/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Beast Of Barcroft sounds like an interesting read and I have The Invisible Library on my wishlist as well. I wasn’t fully convinced by The Girl On The Train either… It’s not bad, but definitely not worth the hype. I can’t wait for Winter!

    Happy Wednesday! Here’s my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment