WWW Wednesday: 5th October 2016

The WWW Wednesdays meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words and is a great way to do a weekly update on what you’ve been reading and what you have planned.

WWW Wednesday

To take part all you have to do is answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

Here’s this weeks WWW.


Currently Reading

Two books on the go at the moment both of which are physical books which is quite unusual for me but which I am enjoying. I love my e reader but it doesn’t compare to a physical book.Ready Player One

The first book is Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I got this from the library a couple of weeks ago and just finally managed to get round to reading it. It’s a YA dystopian set in the not too distant future and is about the hunt for an object hidden within a virtual reality game. I have a bit of a rocky relationship with sci fi books but I’m starting to get into the story a bit more now and for the most part enjoying. I am liking all of the 80’s references as I’m a child of the 80’s but occasionally it goes a little too geeky for me and gets bogged down in endless trivia that I couldn’t care less about.

GrimMy second book, Grim, is one I found in the bargain bin of my local newsagent/bookshop. It’s a collection of 17 fairy tale inspired short stories by YA authors, some I’ve heard of and some who are new to me. I love all things fairy tale and it’s a very pretty hardcover so I couldn’t resist. So far I’ve read the first two stories and while the first was ok I’m very happy to report that the second, Fragments by Jeri Smith-Ready (who I’ve never heard of) was brilliant. In only around 30-40 pages it had me in tears. I’m a big softie but that could be a record even for me.


Recently Finished

AWhat Remains of Me slightly slower reading week with only two books finished. The first of those was What Remains of Me by A.L. Gaylin which I received from NetGalley. It’s a psychological thriller set in Hollywood and follows Kelly Lund who, 30 years after she was jailed for killing a famous director as a troubled teen, is now suspected of murdering her father in law in a similar way. It’s a well written and twisty story that jumps back and forwards in time but I found it a bit of a struggle. It just didn’t grip me the way I hoped it would and I thought there could have been a bit more action. You can read my full review here.

If We Were a MovieAfter What Remains of Me I was badly in need of something lighter and more upbeat so picked up new adult romance If We Were A Movie by Kelly Oram which has been on my kindle for a couple of months. It’s part of the matchmaker series of twelve books by twelve different authors with a common link and is by the author of one of my all time favorite books.

It tells the story of music student Nate, who trying to escape his over powering brothers, ends up roommates with film student Jordan. There are lots of music and film references which I love and the whole thing is just sweet and fluffy with a lot of laughs.


Reading Next

I’m ashamed to admit that, after more wandering off track, my reading next list is pretty much the same as the previous few weeks withย Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas, Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo and The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh still at the top of the list. I also managed to pick up Dark Water by Robert Bryndza from NetGalley. I have been loving his DCI Erika Foster series so I doubt it’ll be long before I start reading.

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows, #2)The Wrath & the Dawn (The Wrath & the Dawn, #1)Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass, #5)Dark Water (DCI Erika Foster #3)

Have you read any of the books above or have any other book you’d recommend? Leave comments and links below.

Happy Wednesday everyone.

26 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: 5th October 2016

  1. I had a similar problem with Ready Player One. Overall, I liked it. But it could have done with less computer game/trivia time and more real world time! I think it could make a fantastic movie though, particularly if they cut down on the trivia and up the stakes.

    Of all your reads coming up next, I’d recommend you to go for Crooked Kingdom. I thought Empire of Storms was ok and Wrath and the Dawn is very good, but Crooked Kingdom is ace. It’s so nice to be back with the gang again!

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/10/05/www-wednesday-5th-october-2016/

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was ready to give up on Ready Player One after about 70 pages but persevered and it did get a bit better. I am very, very tempted to pick up Crooked Kingdom next but I’m going to see Sarah J Maas next week so should probably read Empire first ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It’s sooo hard to avoid Crooked Kingdom spoilers at the moment.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Ready Player One, and it has been on my wishlist for a while, however I’ve been hesitant to pick it up because people often mention the 80’s references and how it is a little bit ‘geeky’, and I don’t know if those things will just fly over my head and so I wouldn’t get the full experience… If that makes sense! Grim sounds like a great hidden gem. I hope you enjoy all your books this week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. There are a lot of 80s references and it does get a bit bogged down in trivia at times but it’s not bad. I think they’re making it into a film so hopefully it’ll be better (and will save you a read). I have to admit to skimming bits.

      Like

  3. I also received Dark Matter from the publisher. I hope it will be a great read like the other two books.Enjoy all your books this week. Happy reading:-)

    Like

  4. I absolutely love finding those bargain books! The title, Grim, is very festive and I hope that you enjoy the other stories in it. I am really looking forward to Crooked Kingdom and I hope it turns out to be one that we both enjoy. Happy reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. I’m currently reading Empire Of Storms and I have Dark Water and Crooked Kingdom high on my list… Although I should really focus on my ARCs first haha. I love that cover of Grim, and a hardcopy as well! I’m glad you are enjoying the stories.

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ready Player One is a favorite of mine. I hope you continue to enjoy it. There’s rumors of it becoming a movie! Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ready Player One was recommended to me, and I just can’t wait to read it. Too bad there’s too much computer trivia for you. I might feel the same when it’s my turn to read it, as I’m not a big fan of this. What Remains of Me sounds good, I will check your review ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment