Teaser Tuesday: 3rd January 2017

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme formerly hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat and revived by The Purple Booker. If you want to join in grab your current read, flick to a random page, select two sentences (without spoilers) and share them in a blog post or in the comments of The Purple Booker.

Teaser Tuesday | BooksAndABeat.com
Happy 2017 everyone!! I hope you all had a great Christmas and New Year if you celebrate it. It actually scares me that we’re in 2017, where does the time go?

Anyway,.this week my teaser comes from The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr which I finished at the weekend and absolutely loved. I found it an addictive and kind of inspiring read so I couldn’t resist using it for a teaser.


My Teaser

Although I feel like nothing could hurt me, a fight with a polar bear is probably not a thing I should seek out. If I have already seen them, there is no need for me to do it again.

~ 63%, The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr


Blurb

The One Memory of Flora BanksSeventeen-year-old Flora Banks has no short-term memory. Her mind resets itself several times a day, and has since the age of ten, when the tumor that was removed from Flora’s brain took with it her ability to make new memories. That is, until she kisses Drake, her best friend’s boyfriend, the night before he leaves town. Miraculously, this one memory breaks through Flora’s fractured mind, and sticks. Flora is convinced that Drake is responsible for restoring her memory and making her whole again. So when an encouraging email from Drake suggests she meet him on the other side of the world, Flora knows with certainty that this is the first step toward reclaiming her life.

With little more than the words “be brave” inked into her skin, and written reminders of who she is and why her memory is so limited, Flora sets off on an impossible journey to Svalbard, Norway, the land of the midnight sun, determined to find Drake. But from the moment she arrives in the arctic, nothing is quite as it seems, and Flora must “be brave” if she is ever to learn the truth about herself, and to make it safely home.

 


Happy holidays everyone.

11 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: 3rd January 2017

    • I’m slightly addicted to books about memory as I find it fascinating. Flora is the ultimate unreliable narrator but in an honest way which I loved. Thankfully polar bear attacks are not something I’ve had to worry about so far 😅

      Like

Leave a comment