WWW Wednesday: 22nd March 2017

The WWW Wednesday meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words and is a great way to do a weekly update on what you’ve been reading and what you have planned.

WWW Wednesday

To take part all you have to do is answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently ReadingSpring at Blueberry Bay

I’m kind of feeling like I have a bit of a book hangover at the moment so I’ve decided some light and fluffy reading is required. I’ve therefore just started reading Spring at Blueberry Bay by Holly Martin  which I received from NetGalley yesterday. I have only read a few pages so can’t really say much about it but I think it’s just the type of book I need.

On audio I’m listening to Twice Tempted by Jeaniene Frost, the second in her Night Prince series. I read this about 6 months ago but am gradually working my way through the series again so that I’m up to speed for the final book.


Recently FinishedA Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic, #3)

First book finished this week was A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab, the third and final book in the Shades of Magic series. This was a book I’d been looking forward to since finishing A Gathering of Shadows but for some strange reason I found it a difficult read. The writing is brilliant (as always), the story was exciting and I loved every single character but I kept finding reasons not to read it. I actually wandered off and read another book mid way through and found myself re reading old books as well. Possibly I just didn’t want it to be over.Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts 1 & 2

The second book finished this week was Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. I ended up reading this from cover to cover in an evening after work (while midway through ACOL). I was a little bit wary of the play format initially but I think this style suited me. Dialogue, when done well, is often what I enjoy most in a book so to have a book which was pretty much all dialogue was perfect. I really enjoyed finding out what all of the characters were up to but the highlight for me were the new characters and Scorpius Malfoy in particular.

Eleanor & ParkThe final book finished this week, and the one that’s left me with a bit of a book hangover, was Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. This was my fourth Rowell book and was every bit as fantastic as the others but a little sadder. I love Rainbow Rowell’s writing, she somehow manages to create very real characters and makes you feel everything that they feel.

This is a “first love” story set in the 80’s but as Eleanor has a very troubled home life deals with some darker issues too. It’s sweet and funny and I loved the 80’s references but it did also make me angry and quite sad.


Reading Next

Unfortunately  all the progress I’d made on my NetGalley shelf has been wiped out over the last week as lots of really tempting books popped up and I just couldn’t resist requesting. I’m not sure what’ll be next but it will almost definitely be one of the following:

Legion (Talon, #4)Paris for One and Other StoriesLast Breath (Detective Erika Foster, #4)He Said/She SaidObsessionThe Cornish Escape

Have you read any of the books above or have any other book you’d recommend? Leave comments and links below and I’ll respond when I can.

Happy Wednesday Everyone!!!

20 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: 22nd March 2017

    • Exactly. I’m so glad I’m not the only one. Everyone else seems to have been unable to put it down but until I reached the last quarter I was finding it surprisingly easy to walk away from.

      Like

  1. I’m glad to see you enjoyed E&P. I loved that one. I just bought the first book in the Schwab series yesterday. Ready to see why everyone loves it!
    I’m excited to read Last Breath and He Said/She Said. I hope you enjoy them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Book handover is so hard to deal with. A light, fluffy read sounds like a good idea. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Eleanor and Park. It’s good to know it made you angry and sad. Sometimes I’m in the mood for books like that, but when I’m not, I despise them. Good to have forewarning.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. He Said/She Said is on my list…and I love the light books now and then, too, so Spring at Blueberry Bay is tempting me.

    I’ve probably mentioned that I also have Eleanor and Park waiting on my oldies TBR list, way back in the 2014 section of my Kindle…so I must read it soon. I loved other books by the author, so I don’t know why I’ve hesitated.

    Here’s MY WWW POST

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’d had E&P on my kindle for a while too. Have to admit the main reason I finally picked it up was because it had a yellow cover which I needed for a challenge but I’m glad I got that push as I really enjoyed it.

      Had a bit of a shaky start with Spring at Bluberry Bay but definitely getting into it now.

      Like

  4. Yay for ACOL! I’m probably finishing it tonight and I can totally relate to your feelings… I kind of don’t want it to be over yet either. I definitely understand your feelings about Eleanor & Park as well; definitely a book hangover worthy story. I love your newest ARCs by the way! I wouldn’t complain about receiving those… 😉 Last Breath is an excellent read and probably my new favorite Erika Foster novel. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m happy you enjoyed The Cursed Child 🙂 It did not work for me, but I guess my hopes were too high! Last Breath and He Said/She Said sound really good! Happy reading!

    Like

Leave a comment