WWW Wednesday: 5th April 2017

The WWW Wednesday meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words and is a great way to do a weekly update on what you’ve been reading and what you have planned.

WWW Wednesday

To take part all you have to do is answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently ReadingThe Cornish Escape

I started The Cornish Escape by Lily Graham yesterday and am already around a quarter of the way through. This was a book I requested from NetGalley when I was in the mood for a summery (or spring) romance and while it’s not exactly what I was expecting I’m really enjoying it.

The story is about a woman who, after her husband admits to having an affair, escapes to the Cornish coast. Out for a walk she comes across a derelict cottage hidden away and falls in love with it. Deciding to buy it she starts looking into its troubled past.

There hasn’t been much in the way of romance so far but I’m loving the mystery around the cottage. There’s something a little bit creepy about it.


Recently FinishedThe Red Road

First book finished this week was The Red Road by Denise Mina. This was a book club read and the fourth in a series (why???) so it’s safe to say it was a bit of a struggle. It was easy reading but there were too many characters and not enough of a plot so I found myself really not caring. It wasn’t a who dunnit or a police procedural or even a character driven story so I’m just not sure what the point of it was. I don’t think I’ll be rushing to read any of the authors other books.

Blacklist (Beautiful Idols #2)The next book finished was Blacklist by Alyson Noel which is the second in the Beautiful Idols trilogy and a book I received from NetGalley. The series is suspense/mystery about a group of teens who get mixed up in the club promotion and celebrity scene in Hollywood.

I read the first book around this time last year and really enjoyed but I think this one was better.  Someone is missing and someone is being accused of their murder so there are a few twists and turns as they investigate what happened. It’s easy and kind of addictive reading but finished on a cliffhanger which is very frustrating.Swan Lake (Timeless Fairy Tales, #7)

The final book finished this week was Swan Lake by K.M. Shea. It’s the seventh in her Timeless Fairytales series but they can all be read as standalones. I usually love this authors books but this retelling of Swan Lake fell a little bit flat and is probably my least favourite of her stories so far. It did have a lot of the familiar themes I love but I thought the writing was weaker and I just didn’t take to any of the characters.


Reading Next

This week I am determined to make some more progress on my NetGalley shelf (and stop requesting books) so I think my next reads will be Last Breath by Robert Bryndza, Saint Death by Marcus Sedgwick and A Dark so Deadly by Stuart MacBride. I also have Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor so I may sneak that in somewhere too as I’m going to a book signing a week on Friday.

Last Breath (Detective Erika Foster, #4)Saint DeathA Dark So DeadlyStrange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer, #1)

Have you read any of the books above or have any other book you’d recommend? Leave comments and links below and I’ll respond when I can.

Happy Wednesday Everyone!!!

15 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: 5th April 2017

  1. Aw, shame you started Denise Mina in the wrong place. I would recommend starting with her earlier Garnethill books or Paddy Meehan, with characters that you really can care about.
    I also need to clean up my Netgally shelves a bit… sigh!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You have the new Stuart MacBride, awesome. I really like this author too! I have Last Breath too and I’ve read a review that it’s the best one yet so I have high hopes for this one. You’re going to a book signing, that’s amazing and sounds lots of fun, wish I could go with you ;-)! Happy reading!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I get the impression Denise Mina books are usually character driven which if done well I would love. Based on this book though I’ll stick with the authors I know do this so much better.

      Like

    • I haven’t read any of his books before but I did read the first few pages of this and there is definitely something instantly likeable about his writing. I’m happy to hear you’ve enjoyed his previous books. Hopefully we’ll both love this one.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Red Road has a beautiful cover. Simple yet it draws you in. You have a lot of books on you list for next week. I don’t have that much time to read but I always put a few books on the list anyway in the hopes that I will find some extra time somewhere! lol.
    Enjoy the rest of your week!
    Laura
    My WWW

    Like

  4. Yay for Last Breath and lucky you for going to a book signing! I’ve heard wonderful things about Strange The Dreamer. I hope you will enjoy your books this week and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment