WWW Wednesday: 28th June 2017

The WWW Wednesday meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words and is a great way to do a weekly update on what you’ve been reading and what you have planned.

WWW Wednesday

To take part all you have to do is answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently Reading

Two Nights

I started on Kathy Reichs newest book Two Nights on Monday morning but haven’t made a lot of progress as my train buddy is back and he expects me to talk to him rather than sit reading on our commute 🙂 It does seem a bit cliched (troubled PI trying to deal with their demons by helping others) but I don’t mind that provided it’s done well and there have been some nice one liners which are always good.

I haven’t made a huge amount of progress on my audio book Attack of the 50ft. Women by Catherine Mayer, mostly because I haven’t been doing much driving and when I have there has either been someone else in the car or I’ve been using the satnav (satnav and audio books are a bad combination. I have however made quite a bit of progress on Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare. It’s a big heavy hardback so I’m only really reading at weekends and evenings but only around 150 30 pages left so should finish in the next couple of days tonight.


Recently Finished

The Bed and Breakfast on the Beach: A summer sizzler full of sun, sea and sand

This has been a pretty good week for me with three books finished and most of them very enjoyable. The first of these was  The Bed and Breakfast on the Beach by Kat French. It’s a light and fluffy summer read about three thirty something women who, when their lives go a bit pear shaped, end up buying a B&B on a little known Greek Island. It’s a nice read and perfect for lying on the beach or beside the pool. I’m not sure having three separate storylines worked for me (I would have preferred the focus on just one) but I loved the way the author depicted the island and the locals. You can read my full review here.

Ginny MoonAfter the Bed and Breakfast on the beach I abandoned my original plan of reading a thriller next and decided on Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig. I’d received this a couple of months ago but put off reading it as it was a little out of my comfort zone, as the whole story is told from the pov of autistic, 14 year old Ginny. I knew I’d either love it or hate it and thankfully it was the former. Considering this is the author’s first book it is truly incredible. It’s completely unique, addictive, frustrating, funny and a little bit heartbreaking. Definitely one I’d recommend.

When Dimple Met RishiThe third book finished, When Dimple met Rishi by Sandhya Menon, is one that had been sitting on my Amazon wishlist for ages but I was lucky enough to get from NetGalley. I think I possibly built this up a bit too much as while I did enjoy it, I didn’t love it as much as I hoped I would. It is quite a cute read but it wanders into “afternoon special” at times and Dimple is not the most likeable of characters. I do have to applaud it however for bringing some cultural diversity into a YA contemporary romance. How accurate its depiction of Indian culture is I have no idea (I suspect not completely based on some of the reviews I’ve seen) but it definitely made a change.


Reading Next

I think my reading next list is more or less the same as last week’s due to my wandering off course so I plan to read one of the following.

Yesterday: The thriller of the summerDon't Close Your EyesDaughter of the Burning City

Have you read any of the books above or have any other book you’d recommend? Leave comments and links below. I may be a little bit slow in responding and visiting everyone’s posts this week as internet on my phone isn’t working so apologies in advance.

I will also be dragging my poor cat to the vet this evening to get him checked out after an asthma attack at the weekend 😦

Happy Wednesday Everyone!!!

14 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: 28th June 2017

    • I like YA contemporary so did enjoy it, just didn’t love.

      This is actually my first Kathy Reich’s and I’m liking it a lot. It’s been a while since I’ve read this type of story. It seems like it’s all psychological thrillers at the moment so it great to have a good old fashioned detective story.

      Like

  1. I haven’t heard of Ginny Moon before, but it sounds great, and pretty impressive for a debut novel! I’ve been debating about whether to put When Dimple Met Rishi onto my TBR- I’m not huge on teen romance but there’s something about it that makes me want to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ginny Moon was absolutely brilliant. Funny, frustrating and really addictive. Would definitely recommend. A lot of people seem to love Dimple and Rishi but I’m not sure there was anything stand out about it. It’s still a teen romance, just with some cultural differences.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh, Ginny Moon sounds fantastic. It’s a bit out of my comfort zone, too, but I’m trying to challenge myself a bit more so I might try to get hold of it.

    Like

  3. Good to hear you ended up enjoying Ginny Moon! She’s such an unique character… I hope you will enjoy your books this week and happy reading. 🙂

    Like

  4. I have the Kathy Reichs book on my TBR – I’ve read a lot of her Tempe Brennan books which I enjoyed a lot (although it took me a while to get over how different it was was the TV show Bones it inspired and I’d watched first) looking forward to getting round to it

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment