WWW Wednesday: 18th December 2019

The WWW Wednesday meme is hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words and is a great way to do a weekly update on what you’ve been reading and what you have planned.

WWW Wednesday

To take part all you have to do is answer the following three questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently Reading

The Honey-Don't List

It’s all change this week as I finished all of the books I was reading last week. On ebook I decided to pick up  The Honey-Don’t List by Christina Lauren, an ARC of which I received via NetGalley. I’ve enjoyed pretty much every Christina Lauren book I’ve read so far so couldn’t resist starting it almost as soon as it arrived on my kindle. It’s very early days, I only started it on Monday night, but so far I’m liking it. It’s reminding me a lot of The Hating Game by Sally Thorne, no bad thing as I absolutely love that book.

On audio I’ve resumed listening to Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray, I started this a few months ago but put it on hold so I could listen to Darkdawn which I’d borrowed from the library. I was already quite far through when I took a break so I only have around 7 hours to go. It is starting to feel like I’ve been working my way through it for ages though so I think I’m going to make an effort to finish it in the next week.  


Recently Finished

Darkdawn (The Nevernight Chronicle, #3)The Christmas Wish ListIf I Never Met You

I’ve had a pretty great reading week and managed to finish three books, two I loved, one not so much. The first one finished was The Christmas Wish List by Heidi Swain, a book I’d borrowed from the library based pretty much on the cover. I really wanted to like this book but I’m afraid it didn’t work for me. Maybe it’s my general grumpiness at the moment but I couldn’t find any empathy for the characters. It was all a little too predictable and on the twee side for me.

I suspect it wasn’t particularly helped by my listening to Darkdawn by Jay Kristoff at the same time. I don’t think I could have found a book more different if I tried and The Christmas Wish List just couldn’t compare to the power and emotion in Darkdawn. I absolutely loved it. There are so many twists and turns and so much happening. It is the final book in the trilogy so there are some heavy losses (I was not happy about a few of these) and an absolutely epic ending. I don’t re read books very often but I suspect this will be one I’ll read again.

After the trauma of Darkdawn, something a little lighter (and a lot less violent) was needed so I decided to pick up my ARC of If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane. I’m a big fan of McFarlane so was very excited when my NetGalley request for this one was approved. It’s a fake relationship story, one of my favourite romance tropes, and McFarlane does a wonderful job of making it feel very contemporary and relevant. The characters are likeable (and have chemistry) and there’s a bit of a feminist slant to it which is fantastic to see. I’m hoping to have a full review up soon.


Reading Next

I have only 3 days of work before I finish up for the Christmas break and I’m hoping that with a little more time in the house I can pick up a few of the hardbacks I bought in the last few months and haven’t wanted to carry around with me. It would be good to finish off a couple of series so I’m thinking probably Finale by Stephanie Garber or Record of a Spaceborn Few by Becky Chambers. I also recently received an ARC of Holly Bourne’s new adult book Pretending so I doubt I’ll be able to resist it for long.

Finale (Caraval, #3)PretendingRecord of a Spaceborn Few (Wayfarers, #3)

Have you read any of the books on my list this week? Any others you’d recommend? As always please feel free to leave comments and links below.

Happy Reading ❤

9 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: 18th December 2019

  1. Good on you for finishing all of the books you were reading last week! I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed the final bit of Darkdawn, it’s always nerve-wracking to see how a series is wrapped up when you invested so much into it already.

    This week I finally finished an anthology I have been reading for over a year: https://thenightisdarkandfullofbooks.wordpress.com/2019/12/18/www-wednesday-18-finally-finishing-a-book-i-have-been-reading-for-a-whole-year/

    Liked by 2 people

    • I think it’s still up on netgalley but if not it’s a 1st Jan release date so not too long to go. I liked it a lot so am thinking I need to swing back and read a few of her others that I’ve missed.

      Like

  2. I’m definitely curious about The Honey-Don’t List! Romance isn’t always my thing, but I loved The Hating Game so you gave me hope I would love this one as well. 😉 Have a wonderful week! xx

    Like

Leave a comment